Clarion Collection Hotel Etage
Vasteras, 722 12
Phone: (46) 21 15 12 20
Fax: (46) 21 15 12 21
If Vikings and their history is your interest, then Anundshög is a place you must visit. It is the largest burial ground discovered so far and dates back to the age of the Vikings. Scientists believe the remains to be as old as between 210-540 AD. Some also believe the place to be a spot for gatherings and meetings. The huge stones and boulders have beautiful carvings on them and have surprisingly survived nature's fury for more than 1,500 years. Come and witness the past that has come to a stand still here at Anundshög.
The Fullerö Castle in Sweden is located in the municipality of Västerås. The castle's earlier wooden structure dating back to 1656 made way for its current structure in 1859 after a number of restorations. The castle is also the birth place of Augustin Ehrensvärd, the noted Swedish army officer and artist who also built the massive Suomenlinna fortress.
The first structure that stood on the site of Tido Castle was an ancient house constructed in the 15th Century by Gren family. The present day castle was erected between 1625 and 1645 by Sweden Axel Oxenstierna's Lord High Chancellor. The castle is renowned for its arresting sandstone portals and features a remarkable renaissance architectural style. Tido Castle's most striking feature remains its 43 intricately designed intarsia doorways, built in the 1630s.
The Ängsö Castle is located on the island of Ängsö. The castle's first mention was on a Royal Charter drafted at the end of the 12th Century. Apart from its arresting architecture, what makes this castle a much frequented site is stories of it being haunted. The castle is today open for public visits.
The Torshälla Church in Torshalla is part of the Diocese of Strängnäs. It is the parish church of Torshalla. The church was built in the 12th Century and is a classic example of Romanesque architecture. After a tower, porch and vaulted ceiling were added later, the church became even more of a grand structure. The ceiling comprises paintings by renowned artist Albertus Pictor, and more.
Fiholm Castle is a privately owned manor house located in Södermanland county. The house's construction was completed in 1642. It's structure highlights French-Dutch Renaissance style of architecture. The structure comprises of two buildings well mastered by Chancellor Axel Oxenstierna. Today, the castle doubles up as a venue playing host to concerts and private celebrations.
Hässelbyholm is a manor house located in the municipality of Strängnäs. Its a picturesque setup located on the Mälaren. The current manor house structure is a combination of two estates, the Hässelby and Ekeby.
Södermanland Runic Inscription 109 is a runic text inscription on a stone in Gredby. This 3 meter (9 feet) tall granite stone's carving depict a Catholic cross with two serpents coiled around it. It highlights Ringerike style of carving.
Built in 1877, Stadsparken is the quintessential city park where locals come to spend some peaceful time in the presence of pristine lawns, ice skating rinks, blooming flowers and trees and a bird lake.
Uppsala's University is the oldest and arguably the most prestigious in Scandinavia. Spread out over several buildings, the central ones are the Gustavianum, which now houses a museum dedicated to the history of the institution, and the Universitetshus, which houses the oldest faculties and the University administration. The address given is for the Universitetshus, but visitors can check the website for a comprehensive list of all the museums affiliated with the University and facilities open for public viewing.
Gussjön is a lake in the municipality of Sala, Sweden. The lake is part of a Natura 2000 which protects natural areas in European Union. The lake underwent a lot of human activities and is now under the preservation process, after heavy amount of human activities took place at the lake.
Ostanback is a monastery of the Benedictine order located near Sala, Sweden. The monastery which became operational in November 1970 was formerly a school. It has two buildings, one built in 1876 and the other in 1926. A candle factory is also located in here which makes candles of various shapes and sizes. Visitors can visit the monastery to get in touch with their spiritual side.