+353 71 61201
Founded in 1507 by the McDonaghs, this Dominican Friary is in a picturesque setting overlooking Lough Arrow. Although it now stands as a ruin, the Friary still has several unusual features. Unlike many early ecclesiastical buildings, it was completed all at one time and does not have a combination of styles. Its most unique feature is a large tower and belfry in the centre of the church, which provided a rood screen during services. The tower has a narrow passageway and two rooms on the ground floor, with three arches on the floor above for bells. A carved rose is on one of the arches and an external stairway leads to upper floor. In later years, the church and surrounding area was used as a burial site. Contact the local tourist office for further information.