Clarion Collection Hotel Etoile Saint Honore
214, FBG Saint Honore
Phone: (33) 1 42252627
Fax: (33) 1 45614453
214, FBG Saint Honore, Paris, FR, 75008
- Phone: (33) 1 42252627
- Fax: (33) 1 45614453
Orthodox Russians in the city can be traced back to the 1700s. A century later, a place of worship for the flourishing community was the need of the hour. Donations coming from Russia and France helped the construction project based on the plans of two Russian architects. The Saint Alexander Nevsky cathedral was completed and sanctified in 1861 and dedicated to Russia's great eponymous Prince. The architecture illustrates the neo-Byzantine style while the exteriors showcase the Muscovite school. Listed as a historical monument, the majestic structure is donned by painted frescoes, golden bulbs and a symbolic Greek cross.
This English speaking Catholic church is situated in Paris' upscale 8th arrondissement. It was founded by Father Ignatius Paoli, an Irish priest en route to Rome who stopped in Paris and recognized the need for an English speaking congregation. St. Joseph's Catholic Church was completed in May 1987 and is located within the same building that housed the original St. Joseph's Church which dates back to 1863. The Church's archives acknowledge it as having baptized Oscar Wilde before he died, and state that it has always welcomed "the fashionable, aristocratic, diplomatic, literary and financial world of Paris."
This Swedish church is situated in the 17th Arrondissement of Paris. It hosts frequent cultural and religious events, such as St. Lucia's day mass in the Winter, and scores of concerts. It's a wonderful and welcoming resource for all.
The story of this park with flowerbeds, protective trees and white statues of artists started in 1769, the year the Duke of Chartres acquired two acres (one hectare) of the Monceau plain (where the famous patriot Joan of Arc camped in 1429). Twnty-nine acres (a dozen hectares) were added between 1773 and 1778; this ground was transformed into an English style garden and became the setting for many revolutionary festivals. In 1860 it was bequeathed to the city of Paris and was converted into a public park by the préfet Hausmann. It was opened a year later by the emperor Napoléon III. To the original pyramid he added a bridge, a cave and a waterfall. The statues date from the turn of the 20th Century. Contact +33 8 3668 3112 for further information.
This impressive 18th-century church is situated in the 8th arrondissement of Paris. It features an extraordinarily airy interior composed of a grand vaulted ceiling flanked by two rows of columns. The church occasionally hosts classical and choral concerts.
A trip to Marché Poncelet is a staple on Parisian itineraries aiming to capture the local essence of the City of Light. Open throughout the week except on Mondays, the famous outdoor market is located within stumbling distance of the Arc de Triomphe. It is lined with stalls selling local specialties, fresh produce, fruits, vegetables, seafood, artisan cheese and bread. Begin your day with breakfast at the street boulangerie where the aroma of freshly-baked baguettes, pastries and confectionery engulfs your senses. Sample freshly-shucked oysters, relish gourmet chocolates, witness chicken roasting in the open, rummage through artifacts, buy unique souvenirs and mingle with the locals at one of the best food markets in Paris.
Famous for housing the tomb of the unknown soldier, the Arc de Triomphe is a site of memories, current events and celebrations. The lists of the dead will move you, while the cars that drive around the monument will terrify you! Standing in a direct line between the Louvre and the Grande Arche de la Défense, the monument links the past with the present and offers amazing views. This is a truly impressive landmark at 50 meters high and 45 meters wide (164 feet high and 147.6 feet wide). Paris would not be Paris without it!
The Traveler's Club is a unique and novel concept. The club is a kind of antique collector, with a lot of wonderful and rare antiques under its possession. Everything from paintings and rare artifacts to castles and heritage buildings are it's treasures. One such castle it owns is the Marquis de Paiva Mansion, which the club acquired in 1904 and has been preserving it since. This is just one the rare and distinct possessions of the club. The Traveler's Club is surely a boon, as it collects, displays and preserves some of the best works of art which would have been lost otherwise.
Situated between Rue Trielhard and Rue de Lisbonne , Rue Corvetto is popular for holding Europe Covered Market. Easily accessible by Miromesnil Metro Station, the street is overcrowded by shoppers during the ongoing event every week. This street is situated near some famous city attractions like Musee Nissim de Camondo and Saint Augustine.
Bought by the bank of France in 1921, this building became a branch office three years later. Hôtel Gaillard was built at the end of the 19th century between 1878 and 1884 by the architect Jules Février for the Baron Emile Gaillard, in order to allow him to exhibit his paintings and other pieces of art. In a Renaissance style inspired by Blois and Gien castles, where brick works, dormer windows and chandeliers were copied, this residence was prized by its Parisian high society parties. After Émile Gaillard passed away, the house was sold to the bank of France. Today, it is possible to admire the paneling of the counters room during the opening hours of the branch. For more information, call +33 8 3668 3112.
Stretching for two kilometers (one mile) and lined with trees, les Champs-Élysées has become the center for festivities and official parades. It is a magnet for tourists and for the multitudes who enjoy evenings spent strolling along the broad and picturesque avenue. The many cinemas, cafés, and restaurants tempt visitors to rest their legs for a few hours, tired from walking by the designer boutiques, banks, and embassies also situated in this chic neighborhood. The avenue was originally created in 1667 by André Le Nôtre, Louis XIV's gardener, in order to improve the view from the Jardin des Tuileries. The avenue was lengthened at the end of the 18th Century, to run from the Place de la Concorde to the Arc de Triomphe.
Église Saint-George is the abode of the believers, a place for the Anglican Christians across Europe to pray and seek His blessings. Feel the divine presence here. Special classes on Sundays for children and music lectures for the grown ups receives a warm response from the Parisians. Interestingly there is also a St. George's Opera Club and various events keep the people bound to the church. Since this God's home has a lot to offer apart from the usual prayers and blessings, the young and old take a special interest in the church's activities. You too can join in, call them or check their website.