55 Market Street
Oneonta, NY 13820-2546
Phone: (607) 432-7500
Fax: (607) 433-2202
Nestled in the heart of Oneonta's Downtown Historic District, stands the city's Municipal Building. The Municipal Building was established in 1906 to function as the city hall. With the setting up of the new one in 1980, this building came to be known as the Old City Hall. It was constructed in the Beaux Arts style, with a red brick facade and a neoclassical clock tower perched on top.
This historic mansion was built in two stages, 1875 and the early 1890s. Its present Late Victorian form was constructed in the 1890s with elegant porches, a turret, stained glass windows and a carriage porch. During its long history, the George I. Wilber House or the Wilber Mansion faced a lot of uncertainties and subsequently fell into disrepair. Demolition of this wonderful structure was stopped by petitions from over 3,000 residents. It has been home to the Upper Catskill Community Council of the Arts since 1999. Today the partially restored grand old dame of the neighborhood features art galleries, a classroom, resource library and resource library in its first floor.
Oneonta Armory was located in a majestic structure reminiscent of a castle. The edifice was made from brick and stone based on George L. Heins’s design. Currently, the erstwhile armory hosts community events.
Opened in 1889 as a state school, the SUNY College At Oneonta is one of the most prestigious educational institutions known for its superlative liberal arts courses. More than 5000 students get enrolled here annually, and avail of an excellent faculty and facilities like the Alumni Fieldhouse which hosts extra-curricular activities.
Located on 136 acres (55.03 hectares) of what was once a hop farm, Brewery Ommegang opened its doors in 1997. A brainchild of reputed brewers, Don Feinberg and Wendy Littlefield, this brewery specializes in production of Belgian-styled brews. They boast of six award-winning and all-time favorite brews: Belgian Pale Ale, Three Philosphers, Hennepin, Witte, Rare Vos and Abbey Ale. Following a tour around the brewery, visitors can drop in at the cafe to enjoy delectable Belgian fares that will wonderfully complement the beers produced here. Brewery Ommegang regularly plays host to beer festivals and concerts; the annual event, 'Belgium Comes to Cooperstown', is a must-visit for every Belgian food and drink lover.
A mammoth wood frame building established in 1880s, sights the First Presbyterian Church in Delhi, Delaware County. The historic structure was designed by Issac G. Perry and is a monumental church building. It also features in the National register of Historic Places.
The Otsego County Courthouse is located at Cooperstown, Otsego County, New York. This historic courthouse is two and half story tall and is a brick-and-stone structure on a foundation of coursed ashlar. The courthouse was built in 1880 C.E and was designed by architect Archimedes Russell. The highlights of this courthouse are able roof, projecting pavilions, and a tower with supporting pavilion and overhanging top stage. It got added to the National Registrar of Historic Places on June 20, 1972.
The Benjamin D. North House is a historic home that has adapted the Federal style of architecture. Included in the U.S. National Register of Historic Places, this lovely mansion features fireplaces, a cozy kitchen and even a wine room.
The Methodist-Episcopal Church of Norwich dates back to the 1870s era and is placed in the U.S. National Register of Historic Places in 2003.
The Chenango County Courthouse District in Norwich, New York is a historical district. It comprises of a number of structures such as federal and commercial buildings, churches and parks. However, the most noteworthy is the Chenago County Courthouse itself. The Gothic and Greek Revival style building was built in 1837 and features a pedimented portico and a central cupola on the roof. The district was added to the list of National Register of Historic Places in 1975.