Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
1 Atwood Dr.
Northampton, MA 01060
Phone: (413) 586-1211
Fax: (413) 586-0630
1 Atwood Dr., Northampton, MA, US, 01060
- Phone: (413) 586-1211
- Fax: (413) 586-0630
Designed by William Brocklesby, the Forbes Library was founded in 1894. Included in the prestigious Register of Historic Buildings, this domineering structure is certainly an important landmark of the city. Its first librarian was Charles Ammi Cutter, who devised the Cutter Expansive Classification System. The envious collection features a wide genres of books, magazines, journals and printed material; an exclusive section is dedicated to children. However, Forbes Library is more than just a warehouse of books, and comprises Calvin Coolidge Presidential Library and Museum, Hosmer Art Gallery,a separate study room and two conference rooms. The library also conducts variety of events including art workshops, film series, poetry sessions and fun events for kids. For varied visiting hours for different departments membership details, check website.
Calvin Coolidge House has a special place in the history of United States of America. This iconic home was built in 1901 and was the summer home to the then President Calvin Coolidge. It is said that in the wee hours of the morning of August 3, 1923, Calvin Coolidge came to know that he became president after the passing away of President Harding. Right at that moment he took the oath over in kerosene lamp light while placing his hand over the Bible.
Displaying the beautiful Early Republic, Mid 19th Century Revival and Colonial Revival styles of architecture, the Hadley Center Historic District dates back to 1775. It was added to the National Register of Historic Places owing to its architecture and bygone days.
A public library serving the Florence community for over one hundred years.
Mountain Park boasts of being "New England's Finest Amphitheater" with several recreational activities and cultural events. Located on Mount Tom, the place was formerly built as a trolley park by the Holyoke Street Railway Company. The park underwent many setbacks with changes in ownerships and was eventually shut; however in 2009, it was rebuilt and revived and today is a hub for a number of concerts, entertainment shows and family outings. Popular bands and artistes have laid down memorable performances here. Check the website for more.
The National Yiddish Book Center on the campus of Hampshire College has been open since 1997, a facility open to the public to encourage exploration of Yiddish culture and modern Jewish literature. Over 1.5 million books have been recovered and current efforts include cataloging and scanning some of these historic texts to have online to share with the world. There is an English-language bookstore on sight as well as an impressive film and documentary series.
The Pulaski Park, previously known as the Prospect Park, is a historic park located in Holyoke, Massachusetts. Built in 1884 by Tighe and John, a walk at the park is a refreshing experience. One can also try recreation activities at the park. The site was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 2004.
The Holyoke Public Library offers a wide range of services and programs.
The Goodwin African Methodist Episcopal Zion Church is a historic church located in Amherst, Massachusetts. This tiny whitewashed wooden frame church was built in 1910 in the Bungalow and Craftsman style of architecture. It was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 2000.
Amherst College is the oldest college in Massachusetts, having been around since 1821. Amherst has 33 different areas of study and students can enjoy a fairly open curriculum. Students are not required to take core classes and instead are able to take classes of their choosing, creating their own curriculum. A member of the "Five Colleges," Amherst students can benefit from taking courses at the other four colleges, Hampshire College, Smith College, Mount Holyoke College and the University of Massachusetts Amherst.
Amherst's Public Library is divided into three branches, the Jones (the main branch), Munson Memorial Library in South Amherst at 1046 South East Street and the North Amherst Library in North Amherst at 8 Montague Road.
The cornerstone of this Gothic Revival-style stone church, designed by English