Clarion Inn Marthas Vineyard
227 Upper Main St.
Edgartown, MA 02539
Phone: (508) 627-5161
Fax: (508) 627-3444
Experience three centuries of island life in this unique museum. The house was built in 1672 and is considered to be the oldest dwelling on Martha's Vineyard. With its wide floorboards built low to the ground and central chimney, it is a perfect example of classic full-Cape architecture. It was moved to its present location and restored in 1977. Several walls have been left open to demonstrate early colonial building techniques. Five rooms are furnished in the evolving styles of home decor; from the basic necessities of the first settlers to the more opulent Federal look from the 19th century. Call ahead for varying days of operation.
The Old Whaling Church, named as such because it was built by whaling captains in 1843, is the perfect location for a vineyard wedding. With spectacular views and Greek revival architecture, the Old Whaling Church is a sight to be seen. This old Edgartown gem can accommodate up to 500 guests in the main church and 150 guests in the lower level Frederick Baylies Room.
Edgartown was founded in 1642, and was the first colonial settlement on the island. By the mid 1800s the town was ranked per capita as one of the wealthiest communities in the country. During that time, whaling and merchant captains built the beautiful Greek Revival homes that can still be found all over town. Edgartown continues to maintain its elegance with many luxurious inns, shops and restaurants. It is also a beautiful island town with several beaches and wildlife preserves nearby.
A perfect spot on a rainy day, the library boasts an extensive collection of books, reference materials, compact discs and audio and videotapes. You can also get access to the Internet, use a personal computer, or dig into the island's fascinating history, a library specialty. There is a children's room and a play area for toddlers. Residents of Massachusetts get free library cards, all others are asked to pay a nominal fee.
One of the many lighthouses on Martha's Vineyard, the Edgartown grounds, managed by the Martha's Vineyard Historical Society, are open to the public. The view from the grounds is breathtaking. The lighthouse, built in 1875 and refurbished in 1985, is an example of Cape Cod style, with three rooms on the first floor and two on the second. It is 45 feet high, made of cast iron and continues to operate as a navigational aid. The walkway leading to the lighthouse is called the "bridge of sighs" because long ago, when men would leave on sailing trips, their girlfriends would be crying and sighing as they crossed.
This breathtaking stretch of barrier shoreline and adjacent upland marshes, forests and grasslands offers a protected habitat to dozens of species of wildlife, especially nesting waterfowl. Located on Chappaquiddick Island, it is reachable by boat or, at certain times and with the proper permits, over-sand vehicles. During summer, guided tours can be booked with a naturalist through the Islands Regional Office. The beach is open to everyone, but regulated by the Trustees of Reservations. No camping is permitted.
Martha's Vineyard Regional High School is one of the largest high schools on the island and is home to some 700+ high schoolers. During the summer months, the high school hosts baseball games of the Futures Collegiate Baseball League (FCBL) with the island's own Martha's Vineyard Sharks.
Cape Poge Light or Cape Pogue Light is located off Martha’s Vineyard, Massachusetts. A part of Edgartown, this beach provides tourists myriad opportunities for a relaxing vacation. The Cape Poge Wildlife Refuge offers many tours to explore the island including a tour to the Cape Poge Lighthouse. The wood tower is built on the north tip of the island and guides ships sailing into the Edgartown harbor. Every six seconds, the tower flashes a white light that can be seen for 9 miles (14.48 kilometers). Hiking along its many trails or taking leisurely fishing and kayaking trips, visitors have many options to enjoy the pristine surroundings.
The historic Union Chapel with its unique octagonal cupola was built in 1870 by the architect Samuel Freeman Pratt and is located in the center of Oak Bluffs. The chapel is one of the favorite venues for weddings, performing arts, concerts and festivals.
The Ocean Park is not much to write home about by itself, as it's treeless and has only the usual seats and a gazebo to grab a bite at. However a fabulous setting by the ocean offers joggers panoramic views especially during sunset. Even in the warmest weather, a gentle breeze is always blowing much to the delight of day trippers and picnicking families. Because of its expansive layout by the sea, the park is used at night for firework displays, food festivals and other community events.
In the 1800s, religious camps were popular on the island. As popularity increased, this open-air wrought iron structure was built, which is believed to be the largest of its kind in the US. With seating for 3,000 people and exquisite woodworking and stained glass, it is truly a magnificent sight. In 1979, its centennial year, it was named to the National Register of Historic Places. The Tabernacle is used today for concerts, Sunday church services, community sing-alongs and special ceremonies.
Strolling the lanes around the the Trinity Park, you'll feel as if you've walked into a fairy-tale land or a film set at the least. Commonly known as the gingerbread cottages, the striking residences are located in an area known as the Campground and are one of the city's popular treasures and a National Historic Landmark. Starting off as mere tents built in the 19th Century by members of the Methodist church groups for seasonal gatherings, they evolved into elaborate expressions of architecture. The Campground and surrounding areas host numerous cultural festivals throughout the year attracting hordes of tourists to witness the majestic houses.