Clarion Inn Bradley Airport
161 Bridge Street
East Windsor, CT 06088
Phone: (860) 623-9411
Fax: (860) 623-2145
A simulcast theater with throughbred, harness, and greyhound racing. There is also dining available.
Now a museum operated by the Connecticut Daughters of the Revolution, this former home of Oliver Ellsworth, a member of the Continental Congress, envoy to France after the Revolution, framer of the United States Constitution, third Chief Justice of the United States and author of the Judiciary Act, was visited by Presidents George Washington and John Adams in the late 1700s. Open for tours from mid-May to mid-October, visitors can see such personal items as a square of Gobelin tapestry and coffee urn from Napoleon Bonaparte. The restored Ellsworth Homestead is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
The New England Air Museum is a facility dedicated to showcase the wonders of the aerospace world. Located at the Bradley International Airport, it was built in 1959. It is home to 26 helicopters, 66 airplanes and other flight-related paraphernalia. This museum also conducts an array of events to keeps the visitors entertained and engaged. The premises are available on rental basis for private events.
The Northwest Park is a popular recreational landmark. It features a nature center as well as soccer fields and walking trails. Comprising of 473 acres (191 hectares) of verdant land and forests, this park plays host to summer camps and several programs for education about the nature and environment. The park also holds a fair that takes place once a year.
Furnishings from the 17th, 18th and 19th centuries, Windsor's first post office, an 18th century general store, the Wilson Museum and a nationally recognized genealogical research library containing maps, cemetery records and photographs can be found at the John and Sarah Strong House. A guided tour of this home is available from April through October.
The Hezekiah Chaffee House is a beautiful mansion that dates back to 1765. From a doctor's residence, then Chaffee School for Girls and now a house museum, this house is certainly deep-rooted in history. Managed and maintained by the Windsor Historical Society, this site gives an insight into the medical field practises that were prevalent in the 18th Century.
The Hartford & New Haven Railroad-Freight Depot is located in the downtown area of Windsor. Originally established as a freight depot, the building is now home to the Windsor Arts Center that showcases works of budding local talent. Added to the U.S National Register for Historic Places in 1988, the depot is located close to the Windsor Amtrak Station.
Founded in 1895, the Windsor Public Library features fiction and non-fiction books, magazines, CDs, DVDs, Internet access, meeting rooms and more.
Covering over 300 acres (121.406 hectares), this premier boarding school is home to over thousand students. This historic Institute is reputed for its fine academic curriculum. Its alumni consists of highly distinguished notables.
This 18th-century building was a village tavern that was owned and operated by the Viets family. Lieutenant Viet who was entrusted with the Newgate prison started the Viets' Tavern as an accommodation-cum-entertainment house. Tourists are surprised to know that the regular visitors at the tavern include travellers and well-behaved convicts as well. Though the tavern is not restored, it is a part of the Old New-Gate Prison & Copper Mine Museum.
Old-timers of Connecticut will never forget the Hartford Circus Fire of July 6, 1944, and this memorial plaque stands in honor of those 168 people who perished in one of the worst circus tragedies to date. A result of coating the roof with paraffin and gasoline (placed to act as a water repellent), nearly 6500 people were inside at the time of the blaze. One of the most enduring legends of the disaster was Little Miss 1565, an unidentified child who was never claimed despite a well-publicized effort to find her family. In recent years, DNA samples have claimed to have solved the case; however, doubts still remain. Circuses were banned in many parts of Connecticut after the fire, up until the 1970s. The memorial is on the sport of the tent during that harrowing night.
The East Longmeadow region in Massachusetts is flanked by the elegant and opulent Elijah Burt House. The house was constructed and established in 1720. It provides a glimpse, back in the history. It allows a look into the small role that Massachusetts played in granting freedom to the slaves. The house has its aesthetics intact and is a finely structured building. It occupies great monumental significance and is also listed on the National Register of Historic Places.