Clarion Hotel Cork
Phone: (353) 21 4224900
Fax: (353) 21 4224901
Nestled in the city-center of the scenic little town of Cork, Lapp's Quay is a picturesque avenue that beckons one and all. Offering delightful views of the scenic blue river, this walkway is a real treat to weary urban eyes that will find comfort in the calming waters flowing by. Take a leisurely stroll along the quay and feast on some of the most beautiful sights the city has to offer. The ending point for marine race: An Rás Mór (Ocean to City), this is one place that prominently features on every tourist's wish-list! Call the tourist office for more details.
Cork School of Music is a part of Cork Institute of Technology. The architecture of this building is most modern and the interiors state-of-the-art. This school of music has many graduate and post graduate programs and has produced some very good musicians. Completely equipped with the best facilities; the institute has a large auditorium, music recording studios, theatre rooms, Piano labs, percussion studios and much more. Located at the center of the city, this place is well-accessible. Cork School of Music has a rich history and is well-known in Europe.
Oliver Plunkett Street runs fairly parallel with St Patrick's Street, but has smaller stores. This is perfect if you are looking for that unique gift you could only buy in Cork. Stop by Betty Barclay for an outfit and Buckley Brothers for a snack.
The last bridge constructed before the 1980s, Trinity Bridge is a footbridge that connects Morrison's Island to Union Quay. It is named after the nearby Holy Trinity Church. Constructed in 1977, Trinity Bridge was officially opened by the Lord Mayor Gerald Goldberg on the 14th of October. It's a 12-foot walkway, spanning a hundred feet. The bridge and the funding was provided from pay-parking in the city.
This bronze statue is one of the most prominent features of Patrick Street and one of the city's best-known landmarks. It was erected to the memory of Father Theobald Matthew, the so-called "Apostle of Temperance". Cast by John Henry Foley, it was unveiled in 1864 by John Maguire, founder of the Cork Examiner, and overlooks St Patrick's Bridge and the River Lee. Father Mathew [1790-1856] was well known in Cork for his work among the poor and later for his involvement in the temperance movement. Although remarkably successful in reducing the proliferation of alcohol consumption, his primary focus remained in improving the wretched living conditions of the town's pre-famine poor. His health fading, he spent his last days in the nearby port of Queenstown, now renamed Cobh.
St Patrick's Street or "Pana," as they call it, is the main shopping street in Cork. This street has great restaurants, such as Ruen Thai Restaurant, and fantastic shops, such as Barratt's. After spending the day shopping, you'll realize why some people call St Patrick's Ireland's best shopping street. Its also is one of the main venues in the city for its street festivals and carnivals.
This splendid Georgian-Gothic structure was designed by George Pain. It was completed in 1832. In 1880, the three-part Gothic front and spire were added, although these additions are not what Pain had intended. Be sure to check out the interesting stone carvings of the exterior. The local skyline is dominated by this imposing structure; it's especially impressive in the evening when floodlit. The inside is less appealing aesthetically, although there is an interesting stained glass window in memory of the Liberator, Daniel O'Connell.
Overlooking the river Lee, Cork City Hall was opened in 1936, replacing the previous structure which was burned down in 1920. The six limestone Tuscan pillars and copper-domed clock tower are a particularly impressive sight after dark. The limestone used comes from nearby Little Island. City Hall houses Cork city's administration; the county administration offices are elsewhere. It is also used for concerts and, during office hours, the public can enter to see the fine Connemara marble staircase.
This church is a magnificent essay in Neo-Gothic by A.W. Pugin. It was completed in 1868, replacing an earlier church built on the same site in 1786. Pugin had intended to have a spire erected but this was never built due to a lack of funds and a fear that the extra weight might cause the building to subside. Inside this beautiful church, one is confronted with dark wood, tall red marble pillars and some fine stained glass windows. The pulpit is made of Russian oak with figures carved in high relief.
Book lovers will delight in the massive collection of this much-loved resource center. Wade through a colorful sea of books on everything under the sun. Sections like Adults, Reference, Lending, Kids and Teens, Music, Local studies among others make for an easier browsing experience. The Cork City Library also boasts of a wealth of periodicals, CDs, DVDs, vinyls and tapes for a more diversified experience. The library is popular for arranging a gamut of talks and sessions by famous authors and personalities that promises to leave you enlightened. The annual Book Festival organized by the Library and held in its premises is an ideal opportunity for book lovers to gain valuable insight from their favorite writers. Check website for more details.
In 1985, Cork celebrated the 800th anniversary of the granting of a charter to the city by John, Lord of Ireland and subsequent King of England. Celebrations were held throughout the historic year, including the construction of a sleek new footbridge spanning the River Lee between Grand Parade and Sullivan's Quay. Nano Nagle Bridge is a single arch structure completed by Site Services. The bridge is named so because Nano Nagle, born during Penal times, was founder of the Presentation Order of nuns and of the South Presentation Convent at 50 Cove Street in 1777. Nano Nagle died in 1784.
Kennedy Park in Cork was named after President John F Kennedy who visited the park in 1963. It is used by locals for walking in the morning and evenings. Trees have been planted to provide shade and conserve nature. There used to be a children's area that was removed due to security threats. Plans are underway for reconstruction of the play-area.