1940 Mel Browning Street
Bowling Green, KY 42104
Phone: (270) 782-6933
Fax: (270) 782-6967
1940 Mel Browning Street, Bowling Green, KY, US, 42104
- Phone: (270) 782-6933
- Fax: (270) 782-6967
Lost River Archaeological Cave is a subterranean cavern in the town of Bowling Green, Kentucky. The seven mile long grotto is a natural formation and boat tours are available for visitors who wish to explore this cave. This tourist attraction is also home to two happening entertainment venues that hosts variety of events and functions.
The Confederate Monument of Bowling Green is one of the 61 Civil War monuments in Kentucky that has been added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1997. Located in the older section of the Fairview Cemetery, the white limestone obelisk was built in 1875 and is towers at 30 feet (9.14 meters). Adorned with an etched Confederate flag and various reliefs on its sides, the statue was erected due to George B. Payne's efforts. Encircling the monument are the many graves of the fallen soldiers, some of whom are unnamed.
St. Joseph Roman Catholic Church is a historic church located in Bowling Green, Kentucky. The church building was constructed in 1870 using a mix of architectural styles such as Gothic, High Victorian Gothic and Italianate. The church property also includes a cemetery. The structure was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1975.
Italianate home of Atwood and Juliet "Julia" van Meter Hobson, was so named because of its proximity to the Barren River. Construction of the hilltop home began in the late 1850s, but was temporarily halted by the Civil War. The partially completed home became a munitions magazine while the Confederates held Bowling Green during the winter of 1861-62. Riverview was finally completed in 1872. Riverivew is a historic house museum with tours and special events throughout the year.
Located in the unique pre-Civil War Octagon Hall, the only eight-sided brick building in Kentucky, this museum contains an abundance of Confederate information and documents in its archives.
Spread over 9.5 acres (3.8 ha) of land, the South Union Shakertown Historic District is a beautiful historic site that features multiple styles and designs of architecture. The place is a great visit area that helps learn about the shaker way of life. With several structures, museum, unique gift shops, overnight lodges, etc. the district is a perfect tourist attraction and an educational institution that has preserved the beauty of Shaker, it's landscapes, folk life and also it's material culture.
Located in the historic old jail, this facility contains an extensive collection of records and documents from the old circuit and county courts. A genealogical library and genealogical collection contains family history files, old scrapbooks, manuscripts, maps, pictures, local history files, and memorabilia from several Kentucky and Tennessee counties. Tours are available.