Clarion Collection Hotel Makeney Hall
Belper, EN DE56 0RS
Phone: (44) 0844 855-9111
Fax: (44) 0133 284-2777
The Duffield Castle is speculated or rather rumored to be one of England's largest castles. This castle built before the 13th century but was destroyed by King Henry III in 1266. Though there were just a few foundations that remained, the people who discovered this in the later centuries, mostly in the 18th century, placed a few stones to outline the castle. The keep of this castle was about 30 meters(98 feet) high and 28 meters(95 feet) wide, which is one of the largest castles to have existed in England.
St Alkmund's Church is an ancient church as old as the first millennium located near the River Derwent in Duffield. The present building dates back from 14th Century and has a Grade I listed status. The church contains many carved stonework from the Norman Age. Visit the website for more.
Hoston Castle is the ruinous castle founded by Ralph de Buron as motte and bailey castle. A stone castle, a keep , a chapel, a barbican and a gatehouse was added by King John in the 13th Century. Presently, the site is a Scheduled Ancient Monument and designated as Building at Risk in the year 2008. The site is accessible via footpath from a dense woodland area.
Built in the year 1786, the original structure at the site of Belper North Mill was ravaged in 1803 owing to a massive fire. In 1804, a new mill was built by William Strutt. Today, it remains one of the earliest fire-proof structures to still survive. Belper North Mill contains a museum narrating the industrial revolution's growth as well as the cotton industry. Various displays at the museum include a lovely assemblage of cotton and silk stockings that describe chevenning, a local art form. Additionally, there is an array of model and historic machines depicting the chrysalis of cotton spinning procedures and a lot more.
An ancient town, Belper has been occupied since the Anglo-Saxon times and it was once inhabited by Bradelei. This market town features a pristine river running its course through the heart of the town. A world heritage site, Belper is a wonderful place to explore the various historical attractions as well as the breathtaking Peak District. A network of ancient mill complexes are found in Belper and house some of the first advanced factories of the world. Belper has been heavily influenced by the Strutt estate and thus, several of the town's original elements still survive. The visitor center offers pamphlets for guided walks and trails.
Dating back to the 19th Century, Allestree Hall is an erstwhile mansion. From the period between 1516 and 1781, Allestree Hall remained under the ownership of Manor of Allestree. In 1781, Thomas Evans bought the estate from Francis Noel Clarke. William Evans lived at this magnificent country house with his son 1st Baronet, Sir Thomas William Evans. Its construction was supervised by Bache Thornhill and it features five bays and three floors.
The beautiful landscaped gardens and the neighboring open grasslands of the Kedleston Hall comprise the Kedleston Park, located about 9 kilometers (5.6 miles) from Derby, and about 78 kilometers (48.46 miles) from Sheffield. The foundation was laid or, perhaps literally, the seeds that would blossom into this gorgeous park were laid down by Robert Adam in the mid-1700s. Over the centuries, the park and gardens became a home for several indigenous plants and wildlife, and today, the Kedleston Park is truly a sight to behold. Maintained by the National Trust, this park and the mansion are available for group visits, so do see the website to know more.
The oldest section of the All Saints' Church at Kedleston is the South doorway which dates back to the Norman period. Featuring stone work that is both beautiful and grotesque, the doorway is only one of the church's many treasures. With additions and alterations made to it throughout its life, the church is richly endowed with architectural features that span centuries. While the church itself is of great interest and intrigue, what All Saints' is really known for is its collection of memorials to the Curzon family whose members resided in the adjacent Kedleston Hall. The memorials are nothing short of awe-inspiring featuring astoundingly life-like figures, lavish materials, intricate carvings and elaborate designs. The church is currently under the management of the Churches Conservation Trust, and is protected by virtue of its designation as a Grade I listed building.
Ambergate is a small village in that is located close to where the two rivers Amber and Derwent meet. Besides it's scenic value, the village is known to be the where England's first electronic telephone exchange was opened. The community here is quite active and keeps itself occupied with organising a number of events through the year, the most awaited being the carnival. Visit this village to walk around the place were the first electronic exchange in the world between small to medium took place.
Spread over a large area, the beautiful Darley Park offers a stunning view of the city of Derby. The Danley Concert that takes place every year, attracting thousands of people, who come to watch the rocking live concerts. Housing the largest collection of exotic flora, Viburnum and Hydrangea, this park is centrally situated and is one of its kind in the city.
Spread over a whopping 207 acres, the Markeaton Park boasts close to a million visitors each year, and is one of the largest green spaces in the East Midlands part of Britain. Steeped in history and tracing its origins to the Norman ages, it comes replete with its own crafts village, fishing lake, football, tennis & cricket areas, floral displays and kiosks. A quaint terrace cafe offers walkers some refreshing and healthy options. This park also hosts annual fests like the Eco Fest, Bonfire & Fireworks and more, so stop by while in Derby.
Formerly a railway bridge, Handyside Bridge is an elegant footbridge situated in the village of Darley Abbey. Crossing the shimmering waters of the river Derwent, this tied-arch bridge was a part of the famous Friargate Line. A wrought iron beauty, this Grade II listed structure is frequented by a number of people every day. The name of the bridge is derived from Andrew Handyside, the person responsible for building this bridge.